A Thousand Words


Halloween in Montana
October 16, 2007, 3:20 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Gym guy and I haven’t seen much of each other in the past few weeks. Ever since I told him I was interested in someone else, even though I really wasn’t, it was just the ONLY way to get him off my back…Even when I told him straight off I wasn’t interested in HIM.

Anyway, today it took all I had to drag myself to the gym. I walk in, and low and behold there he is, doing sit ups. Polite nod & smile. I figured he’d be gone by the time I changed clothes, but oh no! I started doing some weights and then he came up right next to me and started getting some paper towels. Hmm…teensy bit awkward…I felt a “hello” was in order. I congratulated him on his first 5k he had recently done. We talked a little about his time, because he had a great pace, and really…I was a little jealous.

He then asks me if I have anything special planned for Halloween. It’s pretty obvious he’s really asking me if I’m actually dating someone. But, really, I can’t just blurt that out, can I? So, I say, not really and then I make the mistake of being nice and ask him if he has plans.

“Well, yeah. I mean, actually it’s my girlfriend. Well, my girlfriend’s friends. They want us to come to a party. In MONTANA.”

Okay, so it’s obvious you have a girlfriend. And, you’re driving to MONTANA for a Halloween party?? And then of course I had to ask if he was dressing up.

“Well, I was going to be a Pirate, but my girlfriend wants us to do a couple theme. I’m going as Caesar and my girlfriend is going to be Cleopatra. I’m going to feel a little weird, but my girlfriend will be with me and we’ll be in a bar.”

Okay, so it’s still obvious that you have a girlfriend. And, you’re driving to MONTANA to sit in a bar on Halloween?

“Yeah, are you dressing up or anything?”

Clearly he’s trying to clarify that I am in fact NOT dating someone. I just said no. I should have said, well if I WAS dating someone, and for the record, I AM dating someone, I would sure as hell would NOT be dressing up in a couple theme.

So anyway, the conversation manages to continue.

“yeah…work…girlfriend…so busy…girlfriend…feeling sick…girlfriend…”

He then asks me if I’m doing the Seattle marathon in November and I brighten up and think it’s my chance to rub it in, so I say “Well, NO! But, the guy I’ve recently begun dating, boyfriend, um…FRIEND is doing it!” Crap…I had my chance and couldn’t even say it. I couldn’t be THAT girl. He would have thought I was lying to compete with him.

The conversation basically ended there, but I’d be lying if I didn’t say that for a split second I thought of running out the door after him yelling, “I’M DATING SOMEONE NOW… AND WOULD YOU LIKE TO DOUBLE DATE WITH US AND BE IN AWE OF HOW FUNNY AND AWESOME THE TWO OF US ARE?!!”


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

HHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAH…SOOOOO FUNNY!!!!!
I love the idea of asking him to DOUBLE DATE!!!! F-ing hillarious! 🙂

Comment by Michele

oh whew! when i read the beginning of this post i thought you had decided to date GYM GUY! ack!!

Comment by krysten




Leave a comment